Home / Articles / Sports – Current Affairs – May 2016 – Govt Jobs 2016

Sports – Current Affairs – May 2016 – Govt Jobs 2016

Nico Rosberg wins 2016 RGP (Russian Grand Prix)

On 1st May 2016, Nico Roseberg, Formula 1 driver from Germany grabbed the (Russian) Grand Prix, 2016. This was Nico’s fourth consecutive win this season. He is Mercedes Driver. Second place was taken by Mercedes driver from United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton while third place was taken by Ferrari driver from Finland Kimi Raikkonen in this tournament. Fourth and Fifth place was won by RB Racing- TAG Heuer driver and Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel respectively. The race took place in Sochi, Russia at the Sochi Autodom. The RGP (Russian Grand Prix) is part of Formula One WC.

Indian team grabbed two bronze medals and one silver medal in the AWC (Archery World Cup)

On 1st May 2016, Indian team grabbed two bronze medals and one silver medal in the AWC (Archery World Cup). The event took place at Shanghai, Yuanshen Stadium. The Team that won silver medal comprised of Bombayla Devi, Laxmirani Majhi and Deepika Kumari. They lost to Chinese team in the final rounds by 2-6. The two bronze medals were grabbed by men’s mixed and trio pair. The trio team included Jayanta Talukdar, Mangal Singh and while the mixed pair included Atanu and Deepika.

EPL 2016 Winners- Leicester City

On May 2 2016, Leicester City created history by winning the EPL (English Premier League) for the first time in its history of 132 years. The championship was crowned to Leicester City automatically when Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspurs drew a game 2-2. The draw obviously meant that the Hotspurs would have not been able to surpass Leicester City as it was 7 points ahead and leading the table.

Mark Selby is the new World Snooker Champion

The world has a new Snooker Champion in the form of England’s Mark Selby. On May 2 2016, the final match of World Snooker Championship witnessed Mark Selby from England and Ding Junhui from China as the contenders for the number one spot. In a game of 18-14, Mark Selby went on to defeat his Chinese opponent and claim the number one position. This was Mark’s second trophy this year after winning Gdynia Open in Poland.

Pakistan wins 2016 AKK (Asia Kabaddi Championship) Cup

On 6th May 2016 Pakistan won the 2016 AKK (Asia Kabaddi Championship) Cup by defeating Indian Team by nineteen points. Pakistan was the defending champion (of circle style Kabaddi) of this cup and won this year too. India scored 31 points and Pakistan won 50 during the final tournament. The last championship was held in the year 2012 and was won by Pakistan. The PKF (Pakistan Kabaddi Championship) organized this event in collaboration with the POF (Pakistan Sports Control Board). A total of 7 teams participated in this event including Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Iran and India.

Sania Mirza & Martina Hingis win 2016 ‘Italian Open title’

On 15th May 2016, the ‘Italian Open Title’ was grabbed by Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza. They are at present the top ranked women’s doubles pair. They clinched the title by defeating Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina by (6-1), (6-5)-7, and (10-3) during the final match. Martina is a Swiss Player and Sania Mirza represents India. Together, this was the Indo-Swiss pair’s fifth title. Till now, Hingis and Sania have clinched 15 doubles titles together. Sania Mirza started her tennis journey in 2003 and she retired from singles game in 2013.

Sevilla wins third straight ‘Europa League’ Title by beating Liverpool 3-1

On 19th May 2016, Sevilla won the third straight ‘Europa League’ title by beating Liverpool. Sevilla is the oldest football team in Spain. In the final match, Sevilla defeated the LFC (Liverpool Football Club) by 3-1 and won the UEFA ‘Europa League, 2016’ title. This final match took place at the St. Jakob-Park, Switzerland. Before this title, Sevilla also won the 2014 and 2015 titles by defeating Benfica and Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk respectively. Sevilla has won this competition 5 times since inception. The ‘UEFA Europa League’ is a football competition association founded by the UEFA (Union of European Football) in 1971.

Denmark wins it’s first-ever TCB (Thomas Cup badminton) tournament

On 22nd May 2016, Denmark won it’s first-ever TCB (Thomas Cup badminton) tournament. During the final match who took place in Kunshan (China), Denmark defeated Indonesia by 3-2 to clinch the title. During the final set, IN Mustofa from Indonesia was defeated in the two games 21-16 & 21-7 by Hans-Kristian Vittinghus from Denmark. After a wait of 67 years, this is the first time that Denmark won an international tournament. With this, Denmark also becomes the first nation from Europe to win Thomas Group.

SRH wins maiden IPL (Indian Premier League) title by defeating RCB

On 29th May 2016, SRH (Sunrisers Hyderabad) won its maiden IPL (Indian Premier League) Title by defeating the RCB (Royal Challengers Bangalore) during the final match that was played in the Bangalore’s Chinnaswamy Stadium. SRH defeated RCB by 8 runs. This has been the 9th IPL edition since its launch. This was a third final loss for the RCBs. Before that, they were also defeated in the 2011 and 2009 IPL finals. SRH was given a 209 run target. RCB started off great with Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle scoring 54 and 76 runs respectively. However, after their fall other batsmen could not keep up with the pace and lost 7 wickets at the end. They finally scored 200 runs in twenty overs. The ‘Player of the Match’ was given to Ben Cutting (Sunrisers Hyderabad) and ‘Player of the series’ was given to Virat Kohli (RCB).

Seema Punia, Discus thrower from India qualifies for 2016 Rio Olympics

On 29th May 2016, Asian Games gold medalist in Discuss throw Seema Punia qualified for the 2016 Rio Olympics. Seema crossed the 61.m barrier by putting an effort of 62.62 meter throw during the PYTC (Pat Young’s Throwers Classic) event, 2016 that took place at the HCT (Hartnell College Throwers) Complex in Salinas, United States. Seema Punia, who is from Haryana defeated Stephanie Brown-Trafton (2008 Olympic discus throw champion) from United States to clinch gold. Before this, Punia also participated in the 2004 and 2012 Olympics Games. So far 19 athletes have been qualified for the Rio Olympics.

About Banking

Check Also

Dena Bank recruitment 2016-17 Notification 2 Coordinator posts

Dena Bank recruitment 2016-17 Notification 2 Coordinator posts :- Dena Bank invites application for the ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *