Home / Recruitment / Awards & Honours – Current Affairs – June 2016 – Govt Jobs 2016

Awards & Honours – Current Affairs – June 2016 – Govt Jobs 2016


AR Rahman honored with Japan’s ‘Fukuoka prize’ 2016

On 30th May 2016, celebrated music composer from India AR Rehman was honored with Japan’s prestigious Fukuoka Award 2016. He was given this award for his significant contribution in creating, preserving as well as popularizing the traditional-fusion music of South Asia. Rahman will be receiving this award alongwith noted historian from Phillipines Ameth Ocampo and Yasmeen Lari of Pakistan. Last year, this award was given to Tamchandra Guha, well-known Indian Historian. Rahman has received many international awards over the years such as Malaysian Award and MNA (Mauritius National Award) in the year 1995 for his work towards music.

LK Bhattacharyya, an Indian-origin professor, awarded with Regius Professorship

On 7th June 2016, LK Bhattacharyya was awarded with the famed Regius Professorship. Bhattacharya is a professor of Indian-origin and founded by WMG (Warwick Manufacturing Group) at the Warwick University. He was given this prestigious award by the Queen of England. LK (Lord Kumar) Bhattacharyya is also a noted government advisor and an educator. He took over as the professor of MS (Manufacturing Systems) at the Warwick University during 1980. He is an IIT, Kharagpur alumni and received his MSc in EPM (Engineering Production and Management) from Birmingham University. He also boasts An EP (Engineering Production) PhD

2016 IIFA (International Indian Film Academy) Awards presented

2016 IIFA (International Indian Film Academy) awards were presented on 22nd June 2016. It was IIFA’s 17th year. The event took place in Spain. IIFA awards are given to honor the best Hindi movies. The best film was given to Bajrangi Bhaijaan. Sanjay L. Bhansali received best director for his film Bajirao Mastani. For the same film, Ranveer Singh grabbed the best actor award. Furthermore, Deepika Padukone won best actress award for Piku. Similarly, Vicky Kaushal won best debutant male award for Masaan. Additionally, Bhumi Pednehar won the best debutant female award for DLKH (Dum Laga Ke Haisha).

Former team coach of Indian football, Syed Nayeemuddin, conferred with MBR (Mohun Bagan Ratna)

On 15th June 2016, Mohun Bagan announced that Former team coach of Indian football, Syed Nayeemuddin, will be conferred with MBR (Mohun Bagan Ratna). Syed is the only Indian football coach to receive Dronacharya award. Syed was awarded with this honor for his significant contribution to this club and the nation both as coach and player. He was appointed Indian Football coach in 1997. Syed has won both Dronacharya Award and Arjuna Award for football, making him the only sports-personality to have achieved that. He was also the captain of the INFT (Indian National Football Team) which won bronze at the Asian Games 1970.


Raghavan Seetharaman, Indian banker conferred with GEV (Green Economy Visionary) Award

Raghavan Seetharaman, an Indian Banker based in Qatar was conferred with the GEV (Green Economy Visionary) Award on 30th May 2016. Raghavan was given this award for his significant contribution in the environment-friendly activities as well as for promoting the ‘green economy’ for the past two decades. The award was presented to him during the 2016 UABIB Summit that took place in Rome. The awarded was presented to Raghavan by Md. Jarrah Al-Sabah, UAB (Union of Arab Banks Chairman). Raghavan is currently acting as Doha Bank’s Group CEO.

Source link

About Banking

Check Also

APSET Notification 2016 Andhra Pradesh State Eligibility Test Application|Recruitment, Result, Application Form, Admit Card

[ad_1] ADVERTISEMENT APSET Notification Andhra University, Visakhapatnam has released an APSET Notification. Andhra Pradesh State ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *